Delete team member w/ reassigning each task

Tilman Möller
Tilman Möller Member, DACH Partner Posts: 16 Star Contributor

Hi,

a team member left the company. She was on several boards and it would be a huge effort to click on each of those in order to reassign.

What will happen if we simply delete the member?

  • will every task stay alive - just w/o an owner? This would be fine
  • or will the related tasks be deleted , too? This is what we want to avoid

thx a lot for your info / tipps acc. & best regards Tilman

Answers

  • Jörg Koper
    Jörg Koper Consultant & Coach Hannover & HamburgMember, DACH Partner Posts: 287 Mastermind

    Hi @Tilman Möller und frohes neues Jahr 👋🙂

    Während du auf die konkrete Antwort vom Meister-Team wartest, könntest du das Mitglied auch deaktivieren, um die entsprechende Lizenz freizugeben und vorsorglich die bisher erstellten Aufgaben etc. zu erhalten.

    Bisher habe ich das Löschen von Mitgliedern auch noch nicht getestet und bin ebenfalls gespannt, ob die damit verbundenen Aufgaben etc. damit einhergehend auch gelöscht werden.

    Schöne Grüße

    Jörg

    ---

    While you are waiting for the concrete answer from the master team, you could also deactivate the member in order to release the corresponding licence and, as a precaution, retain the tasks etc. created so far.

    So far I have not tested the deletion of members and I am also curious whether the associated tasks etc. will also be deleted.

    Best, Jörg

    Als Experten-Partner von Meister führe ich in meiner Agentur u. a. Workshops für die Integration der Meister Software durch. Hier in der Community freue ich mich auf den Austausch mit Euch und helfe bei Fragen zu MeisterTask, MindMeister und MeisterNote gerne weiter.


    Weitere Informationen findest du auf agenturkoper.de

  • Tilman Möller
    Tilman Möller Member, DACH Partner Posts: 16 Star Contributor

    @Andrew Lapidus Dear Andrew, do you know what happens to cards / tasks of deleted members? thx a lot, Tilman

  • Tilman Möller
    Tilman Möller Member, DACH Partner Posts: 16 Star Contributor

    danke Jörg, so mache ich es auch bisher :-) Happy new year zurück !

  • Andrew Lapidus
    Andrew Lapidus Admin, MeisterLobster Posts: 384 Community Admin

    Hi @Tilman Möller and @Jörg Koper - I do indeed have a bit of insight here!

    Removing a user from your team will in fact not affect the tasks that they are assigned - the removed user will remain the assignee and still be a member of the project as an "external collaborator." This is why we always recommend disabling the user, as this will immediately lock the user out of their account and prevent the user from accessing these tasks.

    I do have a pretty useful tip for reassigning all the tasks assigned to this user, though! You can actually very easily mass edit all of their tasks by filtering for the user's assigned tasks and choosing "unassign:" To do this:

    1. Open a project.
    2. Click the user's avatar to only show tasks assigned to them.
    3. Press CTRL/Command + A to select all tasks.
    4. Choose a new assignee (or unassign) all the tasks.

    Here's a quick GIF:

    Hope this helps, have a great weekend!

    Best,

    Andrew

  • Jörg Koper
    Jörg Koper Consultant & Coach Hannover & HamburgMember, DACH Partner Posts: 287 Mastermind
    edited January 13

    Hi Andrew,

    thanks a lot for the advice from my side. Very productive a good to know.

    Wishing you a relaxed maybe chess-weekend too 😉

    Best, Jörg

    Als Experten-Partner von Meister führe ich in meiner Agentur u. a. Workshops für die Integration der Meister Software durch. Hier in der Community freue ich mich auf den Austausch mit Euch und helfe bei Fragen zu MeisterTask, MindMeister und MeisterNote gerne weiter.


    Weitere Informationen findest du auf agenturkoper.de

  • Tilman Möller
    Tilman Möller Member, DACH Partner Posts: 16 Star Contributor

    @Andrew Lapidus super cool :-) Have a great weekend, too ! Best regards, Tilman