[PLANNED] Let users populate a MeisterTask project with tasks using MindMeister child nodes

Options
Dave Todaro
Dave Todaro EN Basic Posts: 6 Beginner
edited January 2023 in MeisterTask Feature Board

As a user who is creating a new MeisterTask project from a given node in a MindMeister mind map

I want the option to automatically create project tasks from the child nodes of the given node

So that I can efficiently create new projects without the risk of forgetting to include some of the ideas my team has put into creating the mind map during the ideation phase

USE CASE: I'm a project manager or program director who wants to shorten the time from ideation to planning to execution. When a mind map is used to capture ideas/requirements for a large project or a program that will include several related projects, some of the nodes in the mind map will have many children and perhaps many hierarchical levels. When that occurs, it is often easier for project managers to focus on their particular piece of the program if they don't have to see all the details of related projects. Currently, to help with this, the MindMeister/MeisterTask integration allows a user to create a new project based on any given node of the mind map - but then it is still necessary to populate the new project with tasks. This can be time-consuming, and some tasks (sub-nodes in the mind map) might be missed. If I was able to automatically include some or all of the sub-nodes as tasks in the new project I'm creating, the process of turning my team's best ideas into a project with actionable tasks will be reduced. In some circumstances the improved velocity can lead to competitive advantage or more effective risk mitigation, depending on projects' nature.

Suggested iterative roadmap of how this might be rolled out:

Iteration 0 (MVP): Give user option to user to include all, or select sub-nodes, as project tasks that will all populate into the "Open" column of the new project.